Latest And Greatest

The Saturday Six: Inventing Holidays

saturday 6___________________________________________________________________________________________________

It’s nice to know that in-between the big stressful holidays like Christmas, Valentine’s Day, Arbor Day, and Thanksgiving…somewhere, someone is coming up with fun, easy, inexpensive holidays. One’s that Hallmark can’t get there greedy little hands on and make us buy cards for…cards that now cost anywhere up to $8 a card!

What’s up with that? I can make a card with a dirty limerick on it for a dollar.

A lighthouse keeper called Crighton
took to seeing a lady from Brighton,
but ships ran aground,
and sailors were drowned,
as she wouldn’t have sex with the light on

Well the fine folks at Dirty Bandits have put together some of these lessor known holidays, twelve to be exact, and put them in a handy calendar.

holidaycalendar

We have a few suggests to add to next year’s calendar:

1) Flash Your Neighbor Day
2) International Pass The Buck Day
3) Long Awkward Pause Day
4) Be Nice To Nickelback Day
5) Blend All Your Food Day
6) Silly Robot Uprising Day
7) Will Smith Appreciation Day
8) National Comb Over Week
9) Skip Instead Of Walk Day
10) Make A Unicorn Out Of Butter Day
 
Now on to the more semi-“real” holidays:

1.

holidays1

2.

holidays2

3.

holidays3

4.

holidays4

5.

holidays5

6.

holidays6

—–

MORE PLACES TO FIND LONG AWKWARD PAUSE:

Facebook: Long Awkward Pause

Twitter: @LongAwkPause

Podcast: iTunes or PodOmatic

Would you like to see a topic discussed on LAP?  Click HERE.

About Christopher De Voss (132 Articles)
Producer for: https://overthelineshow.wordpress.com. Voice over actor, podcaster, writer on various web sites, published author, should not eat cheese but still does. Follow me on twitter: @chrisdevoss

32 Comments on The Saturday Six: Inventing Holidays

  1. NotAPunkRocker // March 15, 2014 at 9:28 am //

    Be Nice to Nickelback Day should only be celebrated in Canada.

    Like

  2. I vote for the haunted refrigerator night because I can’t respect chickens.

    Like

  3. Go Haunted Refrigerator Day! It is a much better alternative to Devil’s Night.

    Like

  4. Haunted Refrigerator Night is celebrated more than once a year at my place. It occurs every few weeks – nasty, scary stuff in there and when it starts to move around, you need a weapon to defend yourself.

    Like

  5. These are all fabulous holidays – particularly Make a Unicorn Out of Butter Day, and Bathtub Party Day. Now it makes sense to have a calendar.

    Like

  6. I like a good deal, so, where can I send the buck to get one of your dirty limerick cards. Only two days until…. so, express, express post?

    Like

  7. Oh man I missed ice cream for breakfast day…*sad face*

    Like

  8. Oh, this was so much fun, Chris! I feel like I just went to a party. Did you know that at my son’s school they can no longer run when they play tag, they must skip?! For them, it’s always skip instead of run day I guess. My fav was Haunted Refrigerator Night. My house would be scaaarryy!! Ha ha.

    Like

  9. I thought having unicorn-shaped butter meant I had a haunted refrigerator. Now I know it’s just a holiday! Whew! Thanks for making me feel better! Now, about that bean dip that has sprouted Don King’s hair…

    Like

  10. I’m kind of glad I missed “Fanny Pack Day”. I would have had to dig out some stuff from the garage. Count me in for the rest. I’ll be looking for my notifications.

    Like

  11. Be nice to Nickelback! NEVER!

    Like

  12. Damn! I already missed International Fanny Pack Day. Resolving to wear one every day for the rest of the year in reparation. And to humiliate my children.

    Like

  13. Smithf621 // April 2, 2014 at 1:55 pm //

    I genuinely enjoy studying on this website, it holds good content. Never fight an inanimate object. by P. J. O’Rourke. ceceebcbkc

    Like

Comments are closed.

